Post #300: A Year in Review

I wrote my first post on this blog in July, 2007, and in the following year wrote almost 300 short posts related to economics, religion, and politics in the United States.  In that time, this blog has received tens of thousands of views.  It’s a modest number, but considering the small amount of time I spend maintaining the site and a complete lack of advertising and marketing, it’s not unexpected.  The most popular posts have remained fairly consistent and can be found in the “Top Posts” sidebar.

I have been wondering whether I would consider this blog to be “successful”, but I don’t think there’s a clear answer.  I originally started writing as an attempt at catharsis.  Seeing the state of American politics, religion, and a general disdain for rational thought was more than I could bear in silence.  It was (and is) difficult to find people with whom I can speak on a rational and intellectual level.  Yet, I had to do so, even if only for my own sanity.  I thought about questions like, how could I justify sitting idly by when the worst administration in the history of the U.S. escaped from accountability?  What would I tell kids and future generations that would be bound to ask?  Had I never received a single page view on the site, by that measure, I might still have considered it to be useful.  In any case, this would be a good time to thank those of you who have visited the site and those of you have commented.  Hopefully, there will be more to come in the future…

3 Comments

  1. Montag said,

    January 25, 2009 at 6:11 am

    I like the site a good deal. I suppose I should comment more.
    I find it is hard to get comments unless you engage people in being outrageous, then you cannot shut them up.

    I notice you do keep track of hits. I don’t even do that. At some point I decided the only real difference I can make is in myself. That seemed to work out.

    Good luck.

  2. Kurt said,

    March 4, 2009 at 6:24 pm

    Thanks for giving me ammo to reason with my family of GOP’s!

  3. Montag said,

    October 12, 2009 at 3:23 am

    Enough!
    TIme to get back at it.
    But tell us from your viewpoint, and do not parrot everyone else. Everyone else are idiots so far.

    No more silence.


Leave a Reply

