More Atheist Quotes

I have posted numerous times before about quotes related to atheism.  Some of these are so well written, that it’s difficult to ignore the ideas (although most Americans seem to have found a way).  Overall, I hope that readers will be provoked to think and question their beliefs instead of being overtaken by the more base emotion of feeling offended.  AtheistBlogger.com has a new collection, 101 Atheist Quotes.  While I’ve read most before, here are some of my favorites:

The God of the Old Testament is arguably the most unpleasant character in all fiction: jealous and proud of it; a petty, unjust, unforgiving control-freak; a vindictive, bloodthirsty ethnic cleanser; a misogynistic, homophobic, racist, infanticidal, genocidal, filicidal, pestilential, megalomaniacal, sadomasochistic, capriciously malevolent bully. – Richard Dawkins

Faith means not wanting to know what is true. – Friedrich Nietzsche

We must question the story logic of having an all-knowing all-powerful God, who creates faulty Humans, and then blames them for his own mistakes. – Gene Roddenberry

If I were not an atheist, I would believe in a God who would choose to save people on the basis of the totality of their lives and not the pattern of their words. I think he would prefer an honest and righteous atheist to a TV preacher whose every word is God, God, God, and whose every deed is foul, foul, foul. – Isaac Asimov

The world holds two classes of men – intelligent men without religion, and religious men without intelligence. – Abu’l‐Ala al Ma’arri

What can be asserted without proof can be dismissed without proof. – Christopher Hitchens

It will yet be the proud boast of women that they never contributed a line to the Bible. – George W. Foote

I contend that we are both atheists. I just believe in one fewer god than you do. When you understand why you dismiss all the other possible gods, you will understand why I dismiss yours. – Stephen Roberts

God should be executed for crimes against humanity. – Bryan Emmanuel Gutierrez

To say that atheism requires faith is as dim-witted as saying that disbelief in pixies or leprechauns takes faith. Even if Einstein himself told me there was an elf on my shoulder, I would still ask for proof and I wouldn’t be wrong to ask. – Geoff Mather

Is God willing to prevent evil, but not able? Then he is not omnipotent. Is he able, but not willing? Then he is malevolent. Is he both able and willing? Then whence cometh evil? Is he neither able nor willing? Then why call him God? – Epicurus

Men rarely (if ever) manage to dream up a God superior to themselves. Most Gods have the manners and morals of a spoiled child. – Robert A Heinlein

I refuse to believe in a god who is the primary cause of conflict in the world, preaches racism, sexism, homophobia, and ignorance, and then sends me to hell if I’m ‘bad’. – Mike Fuhrman

Faith does not give you the answers, it just stops you asking the questions. – Frater Ravus

If we expect God to subscribe to one religion at the exclusion of all the others, then we should expect damnation as a matter of chance. This should give Christians pause when expounding their religious beliefs, but it does not. – Sam Harris

Most religions prophecy the end of the world and then consistently work together to ensure that these prophecies come true. – Anonymous

The list obviously includes some famous names – people who have really advanced the field of human thought.  I hope their contributions will help open more peoples’ eyes in a world that seems to cling to superstition and mystical beliefs.

1 Comment

  1. Steve said,

    December 30, 2012 at 9:47 am

    Thank you for that list, I doubt I will be able (or brave enough) to use it. In my corner of the world there is literally a church on every corner. Every church worships the same fellow “Jesus” but every church member knows the other churches to be wrong, the other churches are not Christian and they are all bound for Hell. OH!!! When I reveal I was raised “Catherlic” — the fireworks begin. I find it easier to just keep quiet.


Leave a Reply

