My Personal Experience: A Message from God

There’s no shortage of funny and relevant quotes about atheism (I’ll post more in the near future).  Recently, I was thinking about something that several of my “faithful” (that is, religious) friends tend to say: “Open your heart and listen to what God is trying to tell you.”  They then allude to conversations with the Almighty – a benevolent being who apparently wouldn’t hesitate to torture you for all eternity if you question his existence. 

Of course, this one-way “conversation” can apply to just about anything, from making financial decisions, to acceptance of violence and torture, and to deciding on one’s outlook on the world.  All reason, logic, and evidence points to the fact that there is no such creature.  But, assuming that one did exist (admittedly, a huge leap), this God would have given free-thinking humans not only the ability and motivation to question it, but also the backing facts and evidence. 

So, in response, I’d like to propose the following:

Religious people often tell me to listen to what God is trying to tell me. Assuming that such a Supreme Being exists, the message appears to be clear: “I don’t exist.”

I can only hope someone finds it clever enough to quote me. After all, if people can take their cues from the Bible…

Leave a Reply

