Homophobia vs. Microsoft

A Redmond, WA conservative preacher is attempting to take on Microsoft’s “sinful” ways.  Could this be about anti-trust or anti-competitive actions?  No.  This guy’s talking about Microsoft’s acceptance of gay people.  The Telegraph reports in Pastor in Microsoft ‘gay rights’ share bid:

“There are 256 Fortune 500 companies alone pouring millions upon millions of dollars into pushing the homosexual agenda,” he told The Daily Telegraph.

“I consider myself a warrior for Christ. Microsoft don’t scare me. I got God with me.

“I told them that you need to work with me or we will put a firestorm on you like you have never seen in you life because I am your worst nightmare. I am a black man with a righteous cause with a whole host of powerful white people behind me.”

Mr Hutcherson’s office is decorated with the heads of deer, elk and a buffalo – “when I run into animals, I kill them and bring them home and eat them” – as well as invitations to the White House and signed pictures of himself with President George W. Bush.

His ambitious plan signals a new offensive in his two-year battle with Microsoft after it abandoned its neutral stance on gay rights legislation, which he says he helped secretly negotiate before outraged gay employees intervened.

By trying to become a political player in Washington state, he said, the company was trying to impose its sinful ways on others.

This is just but one more example of how neo-conservatism can make outrageous claims against progress.  Thousands of people apparently believe (or will at least listen to and pay) this guy.  From treating homosexuality as a choice (I’m sure lots of people want to line up to be persecuted) to seeing his mission as a Crusade against “sin”, this would have been rather shocking a few years ago.  Now, it seems to be the norm.

1 Comment

  1. jonolan said,

    November 19, 2007 at 9:21 am

    Don’t take the boy too seriously. He’s just afraid that gay rights might dilute the impetus for further Black privileges!


Leave a Reply

