Richard Dawkins: The God Delusion

One of the most inspirational, thought-provoking books I’ve ever read is Richard Dawkins’, The God Delusion.  It’s difficult for me to write about the details, since I could hardly do the quality of his arguments against a God any justice.  Dawkins explains atheism and covers a wide range of topics related to religion (mostly Christianity, since it is the one with which he is most familiar).  The link provides the first chapter of the book (although, I personally found the latter chapters to be more interesting).

His arguments are clear, well thought-out and even entertaining.  I have read the book twice, and I felt completely refreshed and excited both times.  I have never believed in the supernatural or in a supreme being.  Somehow, I always assumed, however, that there was enough evidence to cast a shadow of a doubt on the topic.  After a few friends decided to become born-again Christians, I started looking into it to some extent.  I was surprised to find that there is absolutely no evidence for these beliefs.  In fact, if people hadn’t been told since they were born that they’d be tortured for eternity if they believed anything else, adults would find the stories ridiculous. 

In any case, I hope you have read or will read The God Delusion.  I’ll be posting many more ideas related to topics in the book in future postings.  You can also check out a wide variety of information by doing a web search.  There are also numerous YouTube videos which show Dawkins eloquently explaining some of the topics from his many books.

1 Comment

  1. anon said,

    November 21, 2008 at 10:45 am

    Perhaps this will help
    http://dangoldfinch.wordpress.com/2007/09/06/the-dawkins-delusion/


Leave a Reply

