Bush: God Told Me to Attack Iraq

While the silliest and most illegal of George Bush’s speeches seem to get airtime on news channels, there’s one aspect of Bubba Dubya’s thoughts that doesn’t seem to get much emphasis.  Perhaps it’s because it’s so shameful that even Fox News would have to think about reporting it.  Several years ago, our God-fearing leader explained that God told him to attack Saddam.  The Independent reports in “Bush: God told me to attack Iraq“:

…says Mr Bush told him and Mahmoud Abbas, former prime minister and now Palestinian President: “I’m driven with a mission from God. God would tell me, ‘George, go and fight those terrorists in Afghanistan.’ And I did, and then God would tell me, ‘George go and end the tyranny in Iraq,’ and I did.”

And “now again”, Mr Bush is quoted as telling the two, “I feel God’s words coming to me: ‘Go get the Palestinians their state and get the Israelis their security, and get peace in the Middle East.’ And by God, I’m gonna do it.”

Mr Abbas remembers how the US President told him he had a “moral and religious obligation” to act. The White House has refused to comment on what it terms a private conversation. But the BBC account is anything but implausible, given how throughout his presidency Mr Bush, a born-again Christian, has never hidden the importance of his faith.

Another quote:

“God told me to strike at al Qaeda and I struck them, and then He instructed me to strike at Saddam, which I did, and now I am determined to solve the problem in the Middle East. If you help me, I will act, and if not, the elections will come and I will have to focus on them.”

You can read more details in CounterPunch.org’s article, The Revelation of Saint George

So, it appears we have the President of a First World nation that is taking orders from God.  Perhaps that explains the irrationality and contradictory nature of the arguments.  Personally, I would think that religious-types would have the biggest problem with this.  But, no one seems to mind.  He was re-elected (probably due to rather than despite this quote).

One would hope that people would evolve from murdering people in the name of religious believes.  Rather, it seems that the violence that seems to be the inevitable result of belief in God will continue.  And, the United States (for one), is standing idly by.

2 Comments

  1. October 27, 2009 at 12:21 pm

    […] God told me to invade Iraq – Americas, World – The Independent Bush: God Told Me to Attack Iraq Atypical Guy Did God really tell george Bush to bomb Iraq? I am a Christian, but I would be appalled if God […]

  2. Charlie Bell. said,

    February 19, 2011 at 7:37 am

    I am an atheist, a firm atheist so you can imagine my thoughts about Bush`s B.S. According to the bible, if you can believe this garbage, one of the commandments says, “Thou shall not KILL.” How many have been killed following Bush`s orders?
    C. B.


Leave a Reply

